Skip to content

On Productivity

January 12, 2012

Today is the last day of my maternity leave.  I found myself a bit heartbroken about it.  I’m going to miss her.  Really miss her.  I am looking forward to going back to work because I actually like what I do.  But I’m not looking forward to balancing career and family – is there ever a balance?

Anyway, I remember many people asking, “So, what did you do during maternity leave?”  Usually, I laugh because only people who haven’t been on maternity leave ask that question.  Let’s just put it this way:  it’s not a vacation.  In fact, part of my leave was considered by my work as ‘Short Term Disability’.  [I still get a chuckle that I get emails from HR with the subject line “Regarding Judy’s STD”.  Really?  REALLY?!  Did not a single person in the entire department think this could be construed differently?]

Maternity leave is like a twilight zone, or a vortex of unproductivity.  I had a list of things I wanted to get accomplished every day, like call the electric company or test out the new breast pump.  Then the end of the day would come and I would crumble in a ball of exhaustion having completed none of it.  In fact, one day, the one thing I wanted to accomplish was to make a list of things I wanted to accomplish.  Of course, it didn’t happen.

During my first maternity leave, I felt inadequate every day because I felt so unproductive.  Then a girlfriend told me, “Your only job in those first three months is to feed and care for your baby.  Period.”  This time, I reminded myself of that statement often and felt better for it.

So, what did I do during maternity leave?  I did this:

 

 

From → La Q

2 Comments
  1. Veronica permalink

    Love this post! Well, in truth, love all your posts. You speak the truth lady! I still laugh at myself for thinking that when I was home with Diego last summer that I was gonna get my promotion binder together. Ha! “Silly mommy,” as Pablito would say. 😛

  2. Amen to all that. Good thing we’re all so productive when we’re back at work…. right?

Leave a Reply

