Skip to content

The Gift

August 30, 2011

A few weeks before Genghis turned two, I woke up to something peculiar and completely foreign to me.  First of all, it was a few minutes past 7 a.m.  Typically, by 7 a.m., Genghis has already been up for an hour.  Second, instead of waking up to frantic crying and ear-splitting screams, I heard a soft, angelic, and (dare I say) patient call of, “Mama.  Mama.”  I thought I was dreaming.  Could this be what it’s like to be caressed out of sleep by a baby instead of being jarred awake as if the world was ending every morning?  I thought it was a fluke.  Like he was just taking a break from making me work for my motherhood badge.  Then it happened again.  And again.  And almost everyday since then.

Genghis has always woken up at 6 a.m. with all guns blazing.  My fellow moms would talk about how their babies would just hang out in their cribs in the mornings until they came to get them after their cup of coffee or their MORNING SHOWER.   I’m all, “Bullcrap! If that’s what you have to invent to make yourself feel like a better mom, then so be it.  I’m sure your baby’s poop don’t stink either.”  I haven’t had a morning shower since 2009.

And then, with a little over two months left of my pregnancy, Genghis gives me the gift of sleep and patience in the mornings.  One day, Genghis will give me some spectacular birthday or Mother’s Day present, like a cruise through the Galapagos or marrying someone just like me.  But I will tell him that nothing will compare to his gift of sleep and patience during my last trimester of this pregnancy.

I think he must be a genius.  He’s positioning himself to be the favorite kid by letting me sleep.  Let’s hope this develops into stiff sibling rivalry over who can win more of my affection by being the better sleeper.  So far, Wasabi is getting the lion’s share of my will.

From → Genghis, Wasabi

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

