Skip to content

Oh, did I mention?

June 5, 2011

I’m pregnant!

We’ve affectionately been referring to our second addition as Hoo Two.  I’m 20 weeks along.  I haven’t been withholding the information.  I just haven’t had a whole lot of time to relish in it.  The Good Doctor and I are a bit…overwhelmed by life in general these days.  More news on that later, but we’re not quite sure how we’ll handle it all and the best way to deal with it is to delay planning for Hoo Two.  I’ve also found myself not looking forward to the changes in my body this time around since I started out less fit than I did with Genghis.  At the 8 week mark, I remember telling the Good Doctor, “This ain’t gonna be pretty.”

You know, it’s true what they say about the second pregnancy being different from the first.  Here are some ways my second pregnancy has been different:

  • With the first, everyone was all, “Eeeee!  So excited for you!”  When I tell people about Hoo Two, the response is typically, “Wow.  Again?  Well, congrats.”  We even had a similar reaction when the pee stick read PREGNANT,  “Really?  Uhh, okay.  Sweet!”
  • When you’re tired with the first, you put your feet up and nap.  When you’re tired with the second and you put your feet up, you promptly take them down because the first one is screaming for some juice.  Juice.  Juice!  JUICEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!
  • The hubby is less sympathetic to your cause.  Frankly, he’s tired too, and he’s trying to match you tired for tired.  I have yet to get a successful food run out of him.
  • You know what’s about to happen to your body.  The way it prepares for and incubates the baby is an absolute miracle of nature and I’m proud of my body for accomplishing such a feat.  But still.  It’s a tough road and a tough recovery.
It sounds like I’m bitter and ungrateful for this pregnancy.  Truly, I’m not.  We’re not.  We’re excited.  We’re excited for Genghis to be an older brother (he’s going to flourish, I think).  We’re excited to have a little gang (three’s a crowd, but four is a gang).  We’re excited about the confidence that comes with being second-time parents (and I hear breastfeeding comes easier with confidence as well).    We’re excited about having more love to dish out and receive in this family.  And, mostly, we’re excited about being able to do this to Hoo Two:
Circumstances were different with Genghis, too.  Before Genghis, I had a complete molar pregnancy.  I recovered quickly from it physically, but it took awhile to get over the lonely grief that came with what was essentially a miscarriage.  The molar also required months of blood tests to ensure the abnormal tissue hadn’t returned and spread to other parts of the body.  So the whole situation just hovered for almost a year.  Couldn’t shake it.  When we found out we were pregnant with Genghis, we suspended our excitement until we heard the heartbeat.  Then some more complications came in the form of a hematoma and a bit of bed rest.  When everything was clear and my doctor said he could finally treat me like “a normal pregnant woman” we celebrated every little milestone of the pregnancy.  So far, Hoo Two has been a breeze.  For that, we are thankful for the smooth ride.  Especially when Genghis gives my belly button a sweet kiss every night and says, “Good night, baby.”
And now for FAQs:
1)  No, we don’t know the gender and we don’t plan to find out.  We do have a pretty good hunch, but we’ll keep that to ourselves.
2)  We’re due mid-October.
3)  I haven’t had any crazy cravings, but the Good Doctor has been a real buzz kill whenever I crave Jack-n-the-Box tacos, cheeseburgers, fried fish sandwiches, and beignets.
4)  No decisions on names yet, but we have ruled out Bubba, Arumpatum, and John.  As well as Snooki, Apple, and Kate Middleton.
One Comment
  1. woohoo- you will love having two kiddos! You guys will be great parents- serious!

Leave a Reply

