Skip to content

Recipe: Basil Meyer Lemon Curd

February 9, 2011

I’ve noticed a pattern develop over the last five holiday seasons.  As soon as Thanksgiving dinner is over, the Good Doctor turns on the Christmas tunes on 99.1 and he doesn’t turn it off until 11:59 p.m. on December 25 (though this year 99.1 cheated us out of 4 whole minutes of Christmas cheer by playing regular music at 11:55.  I think they kicked off non-holiday music with Michael Bolton).  Then the next three weeks fly by in a frenzied blur of activity, none of which include shopping or gift wrapping.  During that final week before Christmas, I get an overwhelming desire to cook something to spread holiday cheer (because I feel Grinch-like for loathing holiday shopping).  Typically, I’m over-ambitious.  This year, I anticipated the ambition and decided to make just one thing.  That didn’t require baking.  I’m a terrible baker because I don’t like to follow recipes.  The hungry mama suggested lemon curd and off I went to find mason jars (Container Store, $1.49) and two dozen Meyer lemons (Central Market, $more-than-I-care-to-share.99).  I’m obsessed with meyer lemons.  And since I don’t like to follow recipes, I added some basil for good measure.  They made adorable little gifts and it only took me three episodes of the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and at least five renditions of “White Christmas” cycled through 99.1.  I’m well aware that the holidays are over, but this could make a great Valentine’s gift.  Just change the greeting on the card to “Pucker Up.”

Recipe (from One Hungry Mama):

zest of two lemons
1/2 c freshly squeezed lemon juice
3/4 c granulated sugar
4 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 large eggs

1. Wisk together zest, juice, sugar, butter and any other ingredient that you’re using in a saucepan over low heat. Cook until butter melts and sugar dissolves.

2. Make sure that the mixture in the pot is warm, not hot, and that stove heat is low. [Add coarsely chopped basil, about 1/2 cups worth.]  Add eggs, whisking constantly. Cook for about 10 minutes, continuing to whisk constantly, until mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. Be careful not to boil!

3. Take off heat and strain through a fine meshed sieve into a glass container. Refrigerate until cool; this will keep in the fridge in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

From → Food

One Comment
  1. Bizarley permalink

    2 weeks? THC has been saving this stuff for a “special occassion.” I guess that special occassion is about to be an evening with some serious GI issues!

    Kudos for the awesome gift idea. I might even pawn it off on my own, a la Nancy’s, I mean Judy’s Pepper Pasta.

Leave a Reply

