Skip to content

Garden Gnome

June 7, 2010

FYE:  I dabble in gardening.

This morning, I heard on the radio that gardening is one of the most expensive hobbies in America.  More expensive than golf?  Yep.  More than stamp collecting?  Uh-huh.  Scrapbooking?  You better believe it.  But not my kind of gardening.  I do recession gardening.  Step one involves a garden gnome that tends to the herbs in exchange for room and board.

My garden is a 5’x3′ hole in our deck.  I used to have three of these “gardens” but two of them have become compost bins for last winter’s leaves and garden projects gone wild.  My one good garden is full of herbs because I like functionality.  It has survived despite…well, despite me.  The rosemary and chives have even flourished with my neglect.  Every February, I get inspired by the weather to be outside and get my hands dirty.  When I first started gardening five years ago, I would buy all these seeds:  squash, carrots, peas, spinach, radishes, parsley, cilantro…  I would plant them all at once and then impatiently wait for them to sprout, bloom, and ripen for the harvesting.  I would have had better luck had I mixed all the seeds together and scattered them to the winds.  After five years, I’ve figured out what will survive under my bruised thumb.  And what will survive is what stayed alive from the previous summer.  Recession gardening.

2 Comments
  1. it made me laugh out loud.

  2. DT (the other one) permalink

    we should start a gardening club, I like your style

Leave a Reply

