Skip to content

Farming it up

May 24, 2010

The Good Doctor was out of town this past weekend so I had to keep Busta entertained on my own.  Not as easy as it sounds.  I’ve found that Busta is happier when we’re out and about than when we’re confined to 2000 square feet of hardwood floors covered in blond fur.  Go figure.  So, bright and early, we grabbed our reusable bags, a wad of cash and headed to the farmers market on Eastside to be good tree-loving, urban hippies.  I love farmer’s markets and I was excited to share it with Busta.  And what a weekend – PEACHES!

My problem with farmers markets is that I don’t ever come prepared with a strategy…or enough cash.  So I end up with things like:  a bag of peaches, one bunch of kale, two stalks of green garlic, baby brussel sprouts and apple/carrot/celery juice (Busta is a fan).  $26 dollars later, I’m standing next to the green beans and debating on whether I should buy a handful of green beans for $4 or a crepe.  No brainer.  I went with the classic, Crepe Suzette.

I gave Busta a taste and it was like all 4000 taste buds in his mouth exploded all at once.  He was smacking his lips and bouncing up and down as the tastes of butter, sugar and lemon coursed through his veins.  I might have created a monster.  When we were out of crepe, I had to do some shock and awe to get him distracted – Ooo, look at all the pretty colors.  And look!  A knife sharpening booth!  Let’s take a closer look.  

"Can I borrow your hats?"

The next day, Aunt ReRe and Uncle Quoz invited us over for a traditional English afternoon tea.  But with watermelon juice instead of tea.  And Aunt ReRe’s amazing scones with farmer’s market peaches.  Busta couldn’t keep his eyes off my brother – I think because he thought Uncle Quoz looks oddly familiar.  I don’t know, I don’t see the resemblance.

But he slurped up the juice and noshed on the scones like a proper lad.  Bloody hell.  At this rate, he’s never going to eat a vegetable again.

From → Food, Genghis

2 Comments
  1. Kwizon permalink

    Did you know there is also a Farmer’s Market at Rice? I’m guessing you do, since you work there. I drove by on the way to Amy’s event on Tuesday. Do you know the story – is it weekly/monthly?

    • It’s held every Tuesday. I haven’t been in a while, but it’s a much smaller market than the one on Eastside. Some of the same vendors – but there are more prepared foods/crafts/knickknacks than produce stands.

Leave a Reply

