Skip to content

Overambitious

May 21, 2010

No joke.  I like food.  Good food.  I get giddy about good food and I love trying new food.  Most importantly, it makes me happy to share food.  I grew up with family-style dinners and it took me a long time to get comfortable with being limited to the food on my plate and only my plate.  What do you mean I can’t reach across the table and take a bite of your steak?  Why in the world would you order the same thing I’m ordering when you can just take some off my plate?  Right?

Anyway, one of the things I was most looking forward to about motherhood was feeding my child.  I crashed and burned during the first week of his life, but we can save that story for another post. Or five.  Since Busta has taken to solids like adolescent girls to Justin Bieber (seriously?), I abandoned the 3-day rule a long time ago.  In fact, today, I laughed in the face of the 3-day rule.  I introduced Busta to four new things…all within a five minute time frame.  Tomatoes, hummus, raspberry wheat pancakes and cheese grits.  Tomatoes because they are in season and there are few things more divine than a sweet, ripe tomato.  Hummus so he may sample some international flavor.  Pancakes because they were left over from breakfast at Buffalo Grill.  And cheese grits because you can never go wrong with cheese grits.  Crash and burn.  But there is one silver lining:  homeboy loves him some cheese grits.  I guess it’s not a stretch since he tends to shovel turkey, bread and cheese into his mouth like he’s playing “Chubby Bunny.”  Now I have to deal with the very real possibility that Busta could be a meat and potatoes kind of guy.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  Buscept my shattered dreams of taking him on a Taco Truck crawl, followed by an afternoon of dim sum and capped off with a sampling of Indian sweets.  But my meat and potatoes guy sure is irresistible when he eats his boring food.

From → Food, Genghis

3 Comments
  1. I’m so proud that the boy is embracing his Southern roots.

  2. Mmm….cheese grits.

  3. i don’t get the justin bieber thing either. but i get that photo, man, i get that photo. those cheeks, they’re each a universe.

Leave a Reply

